Day 2 in Peru — That’s My Jam!

The local Peruvian art scene.

The local Peruvian art scene.

“Don’t be mad cause I’m doing me better than you doing you.” — “Sweatpants”, Childish Gambino

So Day 2 was another free day to explore Lima.  We had a plan to rent some bikes in Miraflores and ride up and down the shore of the Pacific Ocean.  Luckily, we were able to add to our dynamic duo and make a trio . . . with another UK resident!  So off we went, myself and Team UK, to the beach.  I made sure to check if I had a thunderbolt on my foreh . . . ok I’ll stop. 🙂

Team UK :)

Team No Helmets 🙂

Miraflores is a district in Lima, Peru.  It’s very safe and features parks, a beach by the Pacific Ocean (with wifi!  Holy advanced society Batman!), a huge marketplace, an active nightlife, skateboarding parks, and outdoor workout equipment.  I found this district very fitness focused.  If I had enough money and courage, perhaps I could live here . . . I know I’d fit right in.  After all, I look Peruvian 🙂

Feeling the ocean breeze against my face as I pedalled up and down my new surroundings was definitely something my soul needed.  The combination of hearing local music, smelling local cuisine, and taking in the new sights was enough to mute the sounds of the city.  Yes.  This is what I call my jam. 🙂  So here are some shots for you to indulge and groove to . . .

Look how close we are to the cliff!  No barriers here!

Look how close we are to the cliff! No barriers here!

My kind of view :)

My kind of view 🙂

One of the many outdoor workout stations you'll find scattered along the beach.

One of the many outdoor workout stations you’ll find scattered along the beach.

BTW . . . Miraflores also features a pastry that you have to try.  The churo.  Yes, you can find this treat in North America.  However, in Miraflores the churo is filled with either chocolate, vanilla, or caramel.  Trust me.  You have yet to live if you haven’t tried this little taste of heaven 🙂

Churos . . . Excuse me while I kiss the sky . . .

Churos . . . Excuse me while I kiss the sky . . .

You might want to try hanging around Kennedy Park at about 5ish in the evening.  This is because you can partake in dancing in this park with the locals.  This also marked the third time I peer pressured my UK friend into trying something crazy with me . . . well, with a local who asked her to dance.  Not to be outdone, I tapped a local girl on the shoulder, pointed to the dance floor and smiled 🙂  And so I checked off “Dance in another country” off my 2014 Bucketlist!

Dancing with new people in a new country to new music?  I've waited all day . . . :)

Dancing with new people in a new country to new music? I’ve waited all day . . . 🙂

MOMENT OF ZEN:  Never be afraid to be you.  We found a local karaoke bar in the evening.  Very local = Very Spanish.  And we were the only ones singing in English.  Oh crap.  Since it was one of our friend’s birthdays, she picked “Blame It On the Boogie” by the Jackson 5.  That’s THE JAM.  Love the chorus!  Problem is, that’s all we knew.  So we agreed to power through the lyrics together.  Guess what I just learned?  The word “together” in UK English actually means BY YOURSELF.  Team UK went silent as soon as the lyrics started.  I had no idea what the timing was (or the pitch for that matter!) and the crowd was not happy.  But I’m not one to let my team down.  So I took lead and did my best (you don’t want to hear me sing . . . ever).  Team UK did help me out during the chorus, but only when it was safe.  I thought we were going to get tarred and feather after this song!  Still we had fun and I didn’t care if I made an ass out of myself — that’s when I get the best stories.  So I hope you find ways to never be afraid to be you.  How do I do it?  I just blame it on the boogie 😉

Peace, love and adventure!

Team UK . . . I swear that guy looks like Sam Smith!

Team UK . . . I swear that guy looks like Sam Smith!

 

Leave a Reply

