Day 11 in Peru — Devouring Something Sacsay and Furry

City of Cusco

City of Cusco

A good traveller has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving. — Lao Tau, Chinese Philosopher

I must say that spending four days in the mountains and seeing one of the Seven Wonders of the World were the best experiences I’ve ever had.  However, nothing was stopping me from enjoying a nice long shower, and a welcome return to a bed.  Pure bliss!

I woke up in Cusco pretty late in the morning (7 am is late for me when I’m vacation!).  I heard of a place called Sacsay Huaman (pronounced “Sexy Woman”).  So a couple of my teammates and I jumped into a cab and said “Take us to Sexy Woman!”

FYI, when jumping into a cab in a foreign country try your best to ensure that you or someone you are with knows the local language.  Since I didn’t know the route to our destination, there were many times I felt like I was getting kidnapped.  Damn my active imagination!

Sacsay Huaman is a walled complex on the northern outskirts of Cusco.  Located on a hill and above Cusco, Sacsay Huaman was used as a fortress to protect the Inca Capital.  The structure is made up of large polished dry stones that were cut and fit together so accurately that no mortar was needed.

When the cab dropped us off we decided to venture around the historic site. Since the site was so big we thought we would admire the fortress from afar.  So we found some back roads and snapped some pics of the Sacsay Huaman:

Sacsay Huaman

Sacsay Huaman

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I even got close to an alpaca!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And donkey!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A shot of the fortress overlooking Cusco.

After our little adventure in Sacsay Huaman, we decided to walk back to town.  I highly recommend the stroll down from Sacsay Huaman to Cusco.  First of all it’s downhill so fatigue won’t be an issue as opposed to going uphill.  Also, with no fixed plans for the day we could really take in the views . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

City of Cusco

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yup. Just like the one in Rio 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Panoramic view of Cusco.

In the evening I had the pleasure of trying a Peruvian delicacy . . . guinea pig!  As I mentioned in a previous post, guinea pigs were a source of protein for the Incas.  As adventurous as my travels are, I like to ensure my taste buds are just as daring.  I highly recommend this dish when you are in Peru!

Tastes like duck!

Tastes like duck!

MOMENT OF ZEN:  Never be afraid to try something new.  A new taste, place, and people all help with our education of ourselves and the world around us.  So challenge your perceptions and devour a new experience.  A new discovery will definitely satisfy anyone’s appetite for adventure. 🙂

Peace, love, and adventure!

Leave a Reply

