Day 12 in Peru — On the Road to Puno

Love these mountains!

Love these mountains!

Change your thoughts and you change your world. — Norman Vincent Peale

This day of my experience in Peru was going to be a more chill travel day.  Although a seven hour bus ride from Cusco to Puno isn’t my idea of adventure, I took advantage of the scenery . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lakes . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mountain ranges . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and Rivers lace this seven hour road trip from Cusco to Puno!

Puno is a city in southeastern Peru.  With a population of approximately 149,064 (2014 estimate) the city is known has been named the “Capital folklórica del Perú” (folkloric capital of Peru) from the wealth of its artistic and cultural expressions.  They are most notable during the celebrations of the Feast of the “Virgen de la Candelaria” and the Regional Competition of Autochthonous Dances.  Puno also has several churches dating back from the colonial period.  These structures were built to service the Spanish population and evangelize the natives.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Statue in the middle of Puno.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One long street crossing the entire city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A magnificent church in the middle of town.

I felt really safe exploring Puno on my own.  The town was a buzz with flags and music because later in the week Puno was celebrating a graduation ceremony among the local schools.

In my exploration of Puno I ran into one of the rehearsals of a marching band.  The band was made up of about 50 or so kids ages 7-10.  The conductor was trying his best to have the kids march on the time of “Dos, Uno, Dos, Uno” (two, one, two, one. . . I’m not sure why he started on two and not one), however, the kids all kept turning the wrong way.  Seeing the kids laugh while the conductor yelled at them warmed my heart as I too laughed at the gap of responsibility and youth 🙂  i.e. the scene reminded me of me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Practicing to be in a marching band.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Almost perfect timing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Dos, Uno, Dos, Uno . . .

I finished my walking tour of Puno by sharing some drinks with some new friends from the Netherlands, and enjoying the lights of the evening in the plaza.

Good night Puno!

Good night Puno!

MOMENT OF ZEN:  Whenever you are in a new city, particularly one in a small town in a third world country, make sure you know the hours of your hotel.  After I walked my friends home I found that the my hotel was locked!  Gates with a pad lock and all!  I had to knock on the window for 10 minutes to get somebody to let me in.  Not a zen like moment similar to my last posts, but definitely a rule to live by when you travel to a new part of the world 🙂

Peace, love and adventure!

Leave a Reply

