Day 14 in Peru — Your Island is Made of What?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nothing says good morning to me than paddling out into the water to start the day.  The cool breeze against my neck, the sound of my paddle cutting into the water, and the smell of the lake as the splash of the terrain hits my face.  This is how I like my Peru, early and sunny with a side of adventure.  We also stopped our kayaks near a trout farm to see breakfast being served.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bon provecho!

Bon Provecho!

Next up on the water . . . visiting the Floating Islands of Uros!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Lake Titicaca, one ancient people, the Uros, live on islands made of living reeds that float around the lake.  The Uros people driven to live on the islands when the Incas expanded their empire. The make their living from fishing and from selling their reed handicrafts to tourists.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We learned that the Uros use the totora reed, which is found along the shores of Lake Titicaca, to make their homes, their furniture, their boats, and the islands they live on.  As reeds disintegrate from the bottom of the islands, which are four to eight feet thick, residents must add more to the surface.  Although I knew I was walking on reeds, the ground was surprisingly solid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am not cut out for this job :P

I am not cut out for this job 😛

After the leaving the reed island we returned back to Puno to enjoy the afternoon on our own.  I took the liberty of getting lost and exploring the town of Puno.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_5747

Sunset in Puno.

IMG_5741

I also found a parade celebrating a graduation of a local university.  So what did I do?  Joined the parade of course!

IMG_5762

I joined the parade because reasons 😛

IMG_5757 IMG_5758

MOMENT OF ZEN:  Embrace getting lost and finding new routes to your destination 🙂

Peace, love and adventure!

One response to “Day 14 in Peru — Your Island is Made of What?

Leave a Reply

