Last Days in Peru –Lights, Good Food, and One Last Adventure

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my favourite shots of the trip!

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells.  Fantasy is a necessary ingredient, it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of the telescope.  Which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.” — Dr. Seuss

“Go to a fountain park?”  I questioned.  I’m all about seeing new places but a city park with water fountains did not sound very unique to me.  However, what else is there to do on Day 15 in this beautiful country?  I’m on the tail end of my trip.  I’ve jumped off a cliff in Miraflores, almost died mountain biking in the Andes, and spent four days climbing Mount Machu Picchu.  I had to start letting go of my time in Peru, but I wanted a big bang of an experience.  The four sole entrance fee into the Circuito Magico del Agua was not convincing me that I’ll be having my mind blown anytime soon.  I’m glad I was wrong . . .

Amazing experience!  There are 13 different waterfalls that you can interact with.  Each fountain is comprised of lights, music and images to create a unique experience of art using propelled water.  The Circuito Magico del Agua is highly recognized and attains a worldwide distinction of being the winner of the Guiness Record for “The Largest Complex of Water Fountains in the World in a Public Park.”  If you visit stay for the light show.  Definitely a must see if you are in Peru!

The next morning of Day 16, my last day in Peru, my friends and I had breakfast at El Pan de la Chola — an organic restaurant in Lima.  Excellent spot for organic coffee, fresh bread and sandwiches.  Their juices are definitely a must try for that extra kick to start your day.

So I had one last bucket list item to check off my list . . . surfing.  Growing up in the middle of Canada I had no access to waves (it was the Praires!).  So I thought I’d fulfill a childhood goal of mine in Peru.  I marched down to the beaches of Miraflores and found an instructor.  We were able to work him down form 100 soles to 40 soles and have one of my teammates join me!  Everything is negotiable when you travel.

So the surf school gave me instructions in English on the shore.  However, the person they sent with me in the sea spoke only Spanish!  The only words he knew in English were “paddle” and “stand up”.  If you have never been surfing the first time out will be a gong show.  Finding your balance is the hardest part.  Of the hour lesson I stood on my board for a total of five seconds . . . not cumulative 🙂  Once you get thrown from your board the board is no longer a vessel of transport, it becomes a life preserver 😛  However, I did have fun and will try this sport again.

MOMENT OF ZEN:  Great time in Peru!  Checked off tons of things on my bucket list, met new people who I still keep in contact with (even after a year), and experienced a new country and culture.  Like I said earlier . . . I did have fun and will try this again in the future . . . in a new place, new time, and with new people 🙂

Until my next trip . . . Peace, love, and adventure!

And Happy Holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

